
Educators: Earn a free Gold upgrade by joining the PBwiki Back To School Challenge.
Indicates MyUnion Id and password required to access resource
Your first stop for basic information on a subject
Credo Reference-Writing Reference database including drama, fiction, poetry. Includes literary symbols, children's literature, women's literature, American and British literature entries.
Credo Reference-Quotations Reference database that includes dictionaries of quotations and classic speeches.
Writer's Resource Center A website that offers access to essays about writing, well over 100 articles, a job center, a freelancer's center and the most recent addition, education about money.
Critical Reading: A Guide From Brock University, a basic guide for undergraduates outlining methods to analyze and interpret poetry and fiction.
The Cambridge History of English and American Literature Considered the most important work of literary history and criticism ever published, it contains essay topics ranging from poetry, fiction, drama and essays to history, theology and political writing.
Get information, articles, and much more in these databases.
Try These First…
Literature Resource Center: LitFinder:
Full-text journal articles, literary criticism, reviews, biographical information, and overviews on over 130,000 writers in all disciplines, from all time periods and from around the world.
Covering world literature and authors throughout history, LitFinder contains a wealth of literary works including over 150,000 full-text poems and 800,000+ poetry citations, as well as short stories, speeches, and plays.
Fiction Catalog a selective annotated list of fiction for adults that includes both established and contemporary works either written in or translated into English. encompasses over 21,600 articles
Books In Print Records describe in-print, out-of-print, and forthcoming books, audios, and videos from North American publishers and U.S. distributors and wholesalers.
Academic Search Premier contains full text coverage in the social sciences, humanities, and sciences.
Academic OneFile is a multi-disciplinary database with full text coverage of more than 8,000 journals.
MLA International Bibliography on InfoTrac: Indexes books, articles and dissertations published on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics, providing coverage from 1926 to the present.
Just looking to browse? Find writing and literature journals here.
The National Book Critics Circle Award Every year the NBCC presents awards for the finest books and reviews published in English
The PEN/Faulkner Award for Fiction is a national prize which honors the best published works of fiction by American citizens in a calendar year.
The Man Booker Prize for Fiction promotes the finest in fiction by rewarding the very best book of the year.
The Edgar Allan Poe Award also known as the Edgars, are given by the Mystery Writers of America in honor of their "patron saint."
The Nobel Prize in Literature has been awarded to 104 persons since 1901. Choose a name and click on it to go to the Laureate's page.
Here are some basic sites to find relevant information. Government and educational sites are the most reliable sites. Check out the Evaluating Resources page for how to find reliable websites.
American Verse Project An electronic archive of volumes of American poetry. Most of the archive is made up of 19th century poetry, although a few 18th century and early 20th century texts are included.
Internet Public Library: Literary Criticism This site contains links to 1500+ critical and biographical Web sites about British and American authors from the middle ages to the present.
Litlinks Lists annotated resources available on the Internet about essays, poems, fiction, and drama.
Bartleby.com is comprised of a body of electronic versions of classic texts, including literature, nonfiction, and reference works.
The Literary Gothic is a guide to all things concerned with literary Gothicism, which includes ghost stories, "classic" Gothic novels and Gothic fiction (1764-1820), and related pre- and post-Gothic and supernaturalist literature.
Modern Language Association (MLA) A non-profit organization that promotes the study and teaching of language and literature.
The Association of Writers and Writing Programs fosters literary talent and achievement to advance the art of writing as essential to a good education, and to serve the makers, teachers, students, and readers of contemporary writing.
National Endowment for the Humanities: The homepage for this federal agency features information about grant opportunites for history, philosophy, literature, and other humanities fields.
National Writers' Union: Website for the trade union for freelance writers of all genres publishing in
Historical Novel Society: Promotes all aspects of historical fiction, supports opportunities for new writers, provides information for students, booksellers, and librarians, and provides a community for authors, readers, agents, and publishers.
Page Information
|
Wiki Information |
Recent PBwiki Blog Posts |