Indicates MyUnion Id and password required to access resource
Your first stop for basic information on a subject
Credo Reference - Art: General reference search database with full-text, aggregated content. Includes definitions, art and artists, architecture, fashion, theatre, and more.
Internet Public Library: Visual arts links
Dictionary of Art Historians: Biographical dictionary of art historians, museum directors, and scholars of art; indexes art historians from major art historiographies (bibliography included).
The Metropolitan Museum of Art's Timeline of Art History A chronological, geographical, and thematic exploration of the history of art from around the world.
Artcyclopedia: The Guide to Museum-Quality Art on the Internet Collection of exhibits and museums worldwide; site is searchable by artist.
ArtLex Find definitions for more than 3,600 terms used in discussing art / visual culture, along with thousands of supporting images, pronunciation notes, great quotations and cross-references.
Get information, articles, and much more in these databases.
|
Try These First… Art Abstracts Arts & Humanities Search (AHSearch) |
InfoTrac Fine Arts & Music Collection covers different types of art and expression. It provides broad coverage of the arts from music and music theory to drama and the performing arts. It also provides content in the visual arts and art history.
Academic Search Premier contains full text coverage in the social sciences, humanities, and sciences.
Academic OneFile is a multi-disciplinary database with full text coverage of more than 8,000 journals.
Just looking to browse? Access Visual Arts journals here
Here are some basic sites to find relevant information. Government and educational sites are the most reliable sites. Check out the Evaluating Resources page for how to find reliable websites.
ArtServe Visual history of art and architecture.
ArtSource A portal for selective Internet resourses for Art and Architecture.
Voices of the Shuttle Links to web resources dealing with art, art history, design, academic programs, and much more.
AskART Extensive directory of information about American Artists; also contains directories of museums, dealers, professional organizations and indexes artists by categories of interest.
J. Paul Getty Trust provides access to all departments of the
Web Gallery of Art A collection of over 13,500 digital reproductions of European painting and sculptures spanning from 1150 until 1800, many with commentary.
Art Libraries Society of North America Founded in 1972, the organization provides a forum for enhanced communication and cooperation.
College Art Association Founded in 1911,the CAA supports individuals committed to art, teaching, and research in the visual arts.
Computers and the History of Art Founded in 1985, CHArt's focus is on the computer applications to the study of art and design.
International Center of Medieval Art Founded in 1956, the Center seeks to support study of the visual arts in Medieval Europe.
National Art Education Association Founded in 1947, NAEA promotes excellence in art education at all academic levels.
Page Information
|
Wiki Information |
Recent PBwiki Blog Posts |