Statistics

 

 

 Indicates MyUnion ID and password required to access resource

 

Online Reference Resources

Your first stop for basic information on a subject

 

U.S. Census 2000 State & County Statistical QuickFacts Contains a multitude of facts about people, business and geography. Gathered over a period of ten years and compiled by experts, the census is for the first time presented here as dynamic tables.

 

Cambridge Dictionary of Statistics 

 

Encyclopedia of Social Measurement captures the data, techniques, theories, designs, applications, histories, and implications of assigning numerical values to social phenomena.

 

Statistics Glossary Online glossary of important statistical terms.

  

The Statistics Homepage Online textbook developed by the StatSoft R&D department provides training on the understanding and application of statistics.

 

Internet for Social Statistics Statistics tutorial designed by Data Librarian Robin Rice at the University of Edinburgh and part of the Intute: Virtual Training Suite funded by JISC.

 

UCLA Statistics Textbook General Advanced Placement Statistics Curriculum E-book developed by UCLA Department of Statistics.

 

 

 

 

 

Statistics About the United States

Get detailed information about social, political, and economic aspects of the United States 

 

Try These First…

 

Statistical Abstract of the United States published since 1878, is the authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States.

 

American Fact Finder is the official interactive web site from the Census Bureau which allows users to access  population, housing, economic, and geographic data.

 

General

 

 

FEDSTATS Maintained by the Federal Interagency Council on Statistical Policy, contains information from more than 70 agencies in the US Federal Government.

 

White House Social Statistics Briefing Room provides access to current Federal statistics on crime, demography, education, and health.

County and City Data Book allows you to create custom printouts and/or customized data subsets from the U.S. Census Bureau’s County and City Data book which contains statistics on many social and demographic subjects.

 

USA Quick Facts State and county quick facts from various Census Bureau programs

 

Agencies

 

AgingStats.gov Federal interagency forum on aging-related statistics.

 

Bureau of Economic Analysis  Bibliographic and full text database indexes 1730 journals and covers scholarly research and information relating to all areas of education. Full text for nearly 830 journals, 67 books, and select education related conference papers.

 

Bureau of Justice Statistics

 

Uniform Crime Reports from the FBI

 

Bureau of Labor Statistics

 

Occupational Outlook Handbook

 

FASTATS (National Center for Health Statistics)

 

Health, United States (National Center for Health Statistics)

 

National Center for Education Statistics

 

Quick Stats: Agricultural Statistics Database

 

TranStats (Bureau of Transportation statistics)

 

Census Bureau

 

Historical Census Browser

 

National Vital Statistics Reports (National Center for Health Statistics)

 

 

International Statistics

 

CIA World Factbook

 

International Database (IDB) offers a variety of demographic indicators for 224 countries and areas of the world.  It is funded by organizations that sponsor the research of the Census Bureau's International Programs Center

 

LABORSTA View and download data and metadata for over 200 countries or territories from LABORSTA, an International Labour Office database on labour statistics operated by the ILO Bureau of Statistics 

 

 

Journals

Browse journals on statistical methods.

 

 

Journal of Modern Applied Statistical Methods

From 2002 to present in Directory of Open Access Journals

 

 

 

 

Web Resources

Here are some basic sites to find relevant information. Government and educational sites are the most reliable sites. Check out the Evaluating Resources page for how to find reliable websites.

 

 

 

Statistical Resources on the Web (University of Michigan) Megasite of statistical resources broken down by area of study. 

 

Intute: Social Sciences: Statistics and Data Statistical resources evaluated by subject specialists at UK universities.  

 

Data on the Net Search or browse a listing of 363 Internet sites of numeric Social Science statistical data, data catalogs, data libraries, social science gateways, addresses and more.

 

Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research Archive of digital social science data.

 

Internet Crossroads in Social Science Data contains over 825 annotated links to data-related resources on the Internet.

 

 

 

 

Associations

 

The American Association of School Administrators is the professional organization for more than 13,000 educational leaders across America and in many other countries.

 

The American Distance Education Consortium links to learning resources, courseware tools, satellite resources, federal programs and grants, standards and plans, accessibility issues and more.

 

The Parent Teacher Association (PTA) is the largest volunteer child advocacy association in the nation.

 

The International Reading Association is a professional organization for those involved in teaching reading to learners of all ages. Our members are dedicated to promoting high levels of literacy for all

 

NEA: National Education Association Homepage


Page Information

  • 7 months ago [history]
  • View page source
  • You're not logged in
  • No tags yet learn more

Wiki Information

Recent PBwiki Blog Posts