Indicates MyUnion Id and password required to access resource
Your first stop for basic information on a subject
Credo Reference-Religion Reference database covering Christianity, Bible, history, myths, Hindu, Jewish, and other religions.
The New Schaff-Herzog Encyclopedia of Religious Knowledge Digital facsimile edition based upon the nineteenth century classic.
Association of Religion Data Archive Data collection on American religions not currently stored in a public archive; users may download the data in several formats including ASCII, MicroCase and SPSS; project is located at
The Catholic Encyclopedia, as its name implies, proposes to give its readers full and authoritative information on the entire cycle of Catholic interests, action and doctrine.
The Jewish Encyclopedia contains the complete contents of the 12-volume Jewish Encyclopedia, which was originally published between 1901-1906 and contains over 15,000 articles and illustrations.
Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy Essays in this online encyclopedia are written by experts or a group of experts from the field. This may be a good place to start research or to find a brief overview of a philosophy-related topic.
The Internet Encyclopedia of Philosophy Find relevant articles by clicking on a letter in the index.
Get information, articles, and much more in these databases.
|
Try These First… InfoTrac Religion & Philosophy Collection
Academic OneFile |
American Religion Data Archive The ARDA allows you to interactively explore the highest quality data on American and international religion using online features for generating national profiles, maps, church membership overviews, denominational heritage trees, tables, charts, and other summary reports.
JSTOR offers researchers the ability to retrieve high-resolution, scanned images of journal issues and pages as they were originally designed, printed, and illustrated.
Just looking to browse? Access Journals here.
Here are some basic sites to find relevant information. Government and educational sites are the most reliable sites. Check out the Evaluating Resources page for how to find reliable websites.
World Religion Resources From Virtual Facts on File.
Finding God in Cyberspace Selective collection of the "best" sources of religious information on the Internet maintained by John Gresham, a librarian with a Ph.D. in Religious Studies
Scrolls from the Dead Sea
The Cooperative Digital Resources Initiative (CDRI) database digital resources for the study of religion provides access to digital images of woodcuts, photographs, slides, papyri, coins, maps, postcards, manuscripts, lithographs, sermons, shape-note tune books, and various forms of Christian art, architecture, and iconography.
Beliefnet has a wide variety of religion resources--articles, quizzes, devotionals, sacred text searches, message boards, prayer circles, photo galleries and much more.
Religious Movements Homepage Project includes detailed profiles of more than two hundred different religious groups and movements.
Virtual Religion Index is a tool for students with little time. It analyzes & highlights important content of religion-related websites to speed research.
Humbul Humanities Hub This site looks like a good place to start research. The site allows the user to filter the seach results by type, language, subject, and time period.
WWW Virtual Library: Philosophy Provided in collaboration with SOSIG (the Social Science Information Gateway), this site allows the user to limit items displayed by selecting World, Europe,
The Bible Gateway Read and research scripture by language and translation of choice.
King James Bible Translations from the
All-in-One Biblical Resources Search Brings together numerous scholarly sites. Ten Biblical translations or versions are searchable by chapter, verse or words.
Buddhist texts Early 20th century collections of the Buddhist canon by Paul Carus appropriate for casual readers.
The Koran This text is an electronically scanned version of M. H. Shakir's translation of the Holy Qur'an. The electronic version is originally from the Online Book Initiative, and is presented here in a searchable SGML form by the
Access to Insight: Readings in Theravada Buddhism Large browsable site including introductory material, translations of texts, an archive of books, essays and transcribed talks, and lists of Web resources on Theravada Buddhism maintained by John Bullitt.
The Association for the Sociology of Religion (ASR) is an international scholarly association that seeks to advance theory and research in the sociology of religion.
American Philosophical Association Access job postings, articles, news, links to resources, meetings, and more on the APA site.
Page Information
|
Wiki Information |
Recent PBwiki Blog Posts |