Psychology

 

Indicates MyUnion Id and password required to access resource

 

Online Reference Resources

Your first stop for basic information on a subject

 

Credo Reference-Psychology Reference database that includes encyclopedia and dictionary entries on major topics in psychology.

 

Cambridge Encyclopedia of Child Development An authoritative, accessible and up-to-date account of all aspects of child development.

 

Encyclopedia of Applied Psychology

This resource encompasses applications of psychological knowledge and procedures in all areas of psychology with clear definitions of topics, brief reviews, and major areas of application.

 

International Encyclopedia of the Social & Behavioral Sciences

An authoritative, up-to-date, comprehensive database for the social and behavioral sciences.

 

Encyclopedia of Psychotherapy

Covers major psychotherapies currently in practice, identifies the scientific studies conducted on the efficacy of the therapies, and reviews the theoretical basis of each therapy.

 

LD Online

A glossary of frequently used term from the world's leading web site on learning disabilities and ADHD.

 

AllPsych Online

This virtual psychology classroom includes an online psychology dictionary defining and providing examples for 521 psychology related terms.

 

 

 

Databases

Get information, articles, and much more in these databases.

 

PEP Archives Full text of 20 principal psychoanalytic journals and more than 40 classic psychoanalytic books dating as far back as 1920.

 

 Mental Measurements YearbookA comprehensive guide to over 2,000 contemporary testing instruments.                                                    

Try These First…

 

PsycINFO --Contains more than 2.3 million citations and summaries of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, all in psychology and related disciplines, dating as far back as the early 1800s.  Ninety-eight percent of the covered material is peer-reviewed.

 

PsycARTICLES --Full-text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology. The database contains more than 120,000 articles from 60 journals.

                                  

 

ETS Test Collection The Test Collection at ETS is a library of more than 25,000 tests and other measurement devices. 

 

PsychiatryOnline A powerful web-based portal that features DSM-IV-TR—the most widely used psychiatric reference in the world—and The American Journal of Psychiatry.

 

PsycBOOKS A database of more than 18,000 chapters in PDF from over 1,200 books published by APA and other distinguished publishers.

 

ProQuest Psychology Journals Provides abstracts and indexing for more than 615 titles, with over 520 titles available in full text.

 

Psychology: SAGE Full Text Collection Includes the full text of 35 journals published by SAGE and participating societies, some journals going back 36 years, and encompasses over 21,600 articles

 

 

 

 

 

 

Journals

Just looking to browse? Here are some of the better known journals in the field.

 

American Psychologist: from 1946 to present in PsycARTICLES

 

American Journal of Psychology: from 03/22/1993 to 03/22/2000 in InfoTrac OneFile, from Spring 2002 to present in Gary Library Holdings

 

Annual Review of Psychology: from 02/01/1950 to 02/28/2005 in Academic Search Premier, from 01/01/1995 to 1 year ago in Wilson OmniFile: Full Text Select

 

Psychology Review: from 09/01/1999 to 1 year ago in InfoTrac OneFile

 

Psychology Today: from 08/01/1985 to 14 days ago in InfoTrac OneFile, from 01/01/1992 to present in Academic Search Premier

 

 

Web Resources

Here are some basic sites to find relevant information. Government and educational sites are the most reliable sites. Check out the Evaluating Resources page for how to find reliable websites.

 

National Center for Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder: Fact sheets, research and education on Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder are provided by the Center, a program of the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs.

 

The WWW School Psychology Homepage: Includes sites on assessment, training programs, employment links and legal resources. Hosted by St. John's University, New York.

 

Social Psychology Network

One of the largest Internet sites devoted to psychological research and teaching, you'll find more than 14,000 links related to psychology.

 

Intute: Social Sciences

This site provides access to psychology resources on the internet. Each resource has been evaluated and categorized using the APA PsycINFO coding scheme. The main focus of coverage is on areas of psychology relevant to the social sciences.

 

Classics in the History of Psychology

Find full texts of a large number of historically significant public domain documents. With over 25 books and 200 articles and chapters on-line, the site also contains links to over 200 relevant works posted at other sites.

 

Psych Web

This website contains lots of psychology-related information for students and teachers of psychology

 

Associations

 

American Psychiatric Association: Physicians world-wide who specialize in the diagnosis and treatment of mental and emotional illnesses and substance use disorders. This page provides news updates and reports on specific disorders.

 

American Psychological Association: National professional association for psychologists.

 

American Academy for Child and Adolescent Psychiatry: Information is provided as a public service to aid in the understanding and treatment of the developmental, behavioral, and mental disorders affecting children in the United States.

 

The Psychonomic Society: Promotes the communication of scientific research in psychology and allied sciences.

 


Page Information

  • 6 months ago [history]
  • View page source
  • You're not logged in
  • Tags: template

Wiki Information

Recent PBwiki Blog Posts