Indicates MyUnion Id and password required to access resource
Get information, articles, and much more in these databases
Try These First…
Historical New York Times
Primary Sources in U.S. History
ProQuest Historical Newspapers the definitive digital archive-offers full-text and full-image articles for significant newspapers dating back to the 18th Century.
Primary manuscripts, speeches, comprehensive collections of full-text legislation and judicial rulings, as well as essential government documents, a large archive of photographic images, complete classic autobiographies, convenient reference information, and a carefully selected anthology of hundreds of seminal scholarly articles.
Making of America circa 1840-1900 and Making of America circa 1850-1877, represents a major collaborative endeavor to preserve and make accessible through digital technology a significant body of primary sources related to development of the U.S. infrastructure.
Newspaper Source provides cover-to-cover full text for five national (
Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center brings together all the information that’s needed to fully understand an issue: pro and con viewpoint articles, reference articles that provide context, full-text magazines, academic journals, and newspapers, primary source documents, government and organizational statistics, multimedia, including images and podcasts, links to hand-selected web sites, and more.
Here are some basic sites to find relevant information. Government and educational sites are the most reliable sites. Check out the Evaluating Resources page for how to find reliable websites.
OAIster is a union catalog of digital resources. OAIster can be searched by Title, Author/Creator, Subject, Language or Entire Record. Searches can also be limited by resource type (text, image, audio, video, dataset) and sorted by title, author, date and hit frequency.
The Internet Archive is a non-profit that was founded to build an Internet library, with the purpose of offering permanent access for researchers, historians, and scholars to historical collections that exist in digital format.
National Union Catalog of Manuscript Collections A free-of-charge cooperative cataloging program operated by the Library of Congress.
Repositories of Primary Sources A listing of over 5000 websites describing holdings of manuscripts, archives, rare books, historical photographs, and other primary sources for the research scholar.
Primary Sources on the Web This is a selected list of websites containing primary source materials.
National Archives and Records Administration (NARA) NARA preserves historically valuable archives of the U.S. government, including documents, photographs, images, maps, audio clips, letters, speeches, and films.
New Deal Network This site contains hundreds of primary sources related to the Depression era and the New Deal, including letters, photographs, posters, political cartoons, government documents, speeches, and more. You can also find background information on New Deal programs.
Avalon Project: Documents in Law, History and Diplomacy
EuroDocs: Western European Primary Historical Documents
Gallica: Digital Library of the National Library of
Page Information
|
Wiki Information |
Recent PBwiki Blog Posts |