Indicates MyUnion Id and password required to access resource
Your first stop for basic information on a subject
Credo Reference-Cassell's Peoples, Nations and Cultures A unique and comprehensive historical guide to some 1500 of the world's peoples, from the earliest times to the present.
Biography.com Thousands of short biographies excerpted from the Cambridge Biographical Encyclopedia.
ORB--Online Reference Book for Medieval Studies The site is organized into several sections including e-texts, an encyclopedia, a textbook library, and resources for teaching.
International Encyclopedia of the Social & Behavioral Sciences An authoritative, up-to-date, comprehensive database for the social and behavioral sciences.
Get information, articles, and much more in these databases.
Try These First… History Resource Center: US: Provides integrated access to over 4,000 historical (primary) documents, articles from more than 30 reference titles, and over 110 full-text journal covering themes, events, individuals and periods in U.S. history from pre-Colonial times to the present. America: History and Life with indexing for 1,700 journals from 1964 to present, this is the definitive index of literature covering the history and culture of the JSTOR (Collections I&II) -- offers researchers the ability to retrieve high-resolution, scanned images of journal issues and pages as they were originally designed, printed, and illustrated.
a single electronic resource that provides instant access to an unprecedented number of periodicals.
Primary Sources in U.S. History
Authoritative American history resources, available in three optional subject modules: Presidential Studies, African American Studies, and Women's Studies.
Making of America represents a major collaborative endeavor to preserve and make accessible through digital technology a significant body of primary sources related to development of the U.S. infrastructure.
Academic Search Premiercontains indexing for more than 8,100 journals, with full text for nearly 4,500 of those titles.
InfoTrac World History Collection
World Almanacs Includes biographies, encyclopedia entries, facts, statistics.
InfoTrac Pop Culture Collection
Academic OneFile is a multi-disciplinary database with full text coverage of more than 8,000 journals.
Just looking to browse? Find History journals here
Here are some basic sites to find relevant information. Government and educational sites are the most reliable sites. Check out the Evaluating Resources page for how to find reliable websites.
Library of Congress American Memory provides free and open access through the Internet to written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience.
American Rhetoric 5000+ full text, audio, and video (streaming) versions of public speeches, sermons, legal proceedings, lectures, debates, interviews, and other recorded media events.
In the first person is an index to letters, diaries, oral histories, and other personal narratives with more than 3,350 collections of personal narratives in English from around the world. Keyword search more than 650,000 pages of full-text by more than 15,000 individuals.
Presidents: Selected speeches of all the
American Memory Archival material relating to American culture and history from the Library of Congress; includes papers of Presidents Washington, Jefferson and Lincoln, WPA life histories, images, sheet music, etc.
Internet Modern History Sourcebook Covers European history and American history, as well as in modern Western Civilization and World Cultures.
Internet Medieval Sourcebook Full-text primary and secondary sources, including Ancient, Medieval and Byzantine hagiographical sources.
Internet Ancient History Sourcebook A guide to full-text ancient history sources on the web.
History Net is brought to you by the Weider History Group, the world's largest publisher of history magazines. HistoryNet.com contains daily features, photo galleries and over 1,200 articles.
The Victorian Web Deals with many aspects of the Victorian Period. From Brown University.
Mapping History: The Darkwing Atlas Project Maps of Europe, Asia and North America.
Cultural Maps Historical geography of America from the University of Virginia.
American Historical Association was founded in 1884 and incorporated by Congress in 1889 to serve the broad field of history. It encompasses every historical period and geographical area and serves professional historians in all areas of employment.
The Organization of American Historians is the largest learned society devoted to the study of American history.
Page Information
|
Wiki Information |
Recent PBwiki Blog Posts |