Education

 

 

Indicates MyUnion Id and password required to access resource

 

Online Reference Resources

Your first stop for basic information on a subject

 

Credo Reference-LanguageIncludes definitions and information on the English language, phrases, myths, and fables.

 

International Encyclopedia of the Social & Behavioral Sciences

An authoritative, up-to-date, comprehensive database for the social and behavioral sciences

 

Education Review: a journal of book reviews

Publishes reviews of recent books in education, covering the entire range of education scholarship and practice

 

Education Virtual Library

Published by the Charles Sturt University this site provides links to resources on the internet related to education.

 

Educator's Reference Desk builds on over a quarter century of experience providing high-quality resources and services to the education community.

 

Federal Resources for Education Excellence (FREE) is organized by subject and provides information on lesson plans, activities, maps, and many more resources for educators. More than 1,500 federally supported teaching and learning resources are included from dozens of federal agencies.

 

 

 

Databases

Get information, articles, and much more in these databases 

 

Try These First…

 

ERIC provides free full-text access to materials covering subjects such as adult, career, and vocational education information, elementary, early childhood education, urban education, and higher education.

 

Academic Search Premier contains full text coverage in biology, chemistry, engineering, physics, psychology, religion & theology, etc.

Education: SAGE Full Text Collection includes the full text of 26 peer-reviewed journals published by SAGE and participating societies covering all topics in education.

 

Education Abstracts indexes and abstracts articles from more than 680 periodicals and yearbooks. Subjects covered include adult education, continuing education, library science, literacy standards, multicultural/ethnic education, teaching methods, and more.

 

Education Research Complete Bibliographic and full text database indexes 1730 journals and covers scholarly research and information relating to all areas of education. Full text for nearly 830 journals, 67 books, and select education related conference papers.

 

Mental Measurements Yearbook A comprehensive guide to over 2,000 contemporary testing instruments

 

ETS Test CollectionThe Test Collection at ETS is a library of more than 25,000 tests and other measurement devices.

 

Academic OneFile is a multi-disciplinary database with full text coverage of more than 8,000 journals.

 

 

 

 

Web Resources

Here are some basic sites to find relevant information. Government and educational sites are the most reliable sites. Check out the Evaluating Resources page for how to find reliable websites.

 

EDUCAUSE is for college and university managers and users of information resources.

 

Edweb - Exploring Technology and School Reform guide to education related issues concerning the Internet, and to educational resources on the internet.

 

The National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), located within the U.S. Department of Education and the Institute of Education Sciences, is the primary federal entity for collecting and analyzing data related to education.

 

Awesome Library for Teachers, Students, Parents, and Librarians links to 32,000 carefully reviewed resources, including the top 5 percent in education.

 

Columbia Education Center (CEC) Lesson Plans Sources for lesson plans created and contributed by teachers who've used them successfully in their classrooms as well as web-based teaching resources.

 

LITERACY.org includes electronic resources and tools for the national and international youth and adult literacy communities.  Includes projects such as ESL/CivicsLink, Intermediate Level Online English Instruction, Integrating Technology Into Adult Literacy Instruction, and more.

 

Reading Assessment Database This searchable database describes in detail all available early reading assessment tools that are published and distributed in the SEDL region.

 

Child Care & Early Education Research Connections A comprehensive and easily searchable collection of more than 10,000 resources from the many disciplines related to child care and early education.

 

U.S. Census Bureau on Education Data related to educational attainment, field of training, school costs, enrollment, districts, and more.

 

Statistical Abstract of the United States The authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States.

 

 

Lesson Plans

 

Scholastic Lesson Plans  Every month find new lessons complete with supporting printables and booklists.

 

The Educator’s Reference Desk : More than 2000 unique lesson plans which were written and submitted by teachers from all over the United States and the world.

 

Lesson Planet Find Online Lessons Fast! Search from over 80,000 online lesson plans that are teacher-reviewed and correlated to state standards.

 

Gateway to 21st Century Skills: Thousands of lesson plans and other teaching and learning resources at your fingertips!

 

 

Associations

 

The American Association of School Administrators is the professional organization for more than 13,000 educational leaders across America and in many other countries.

 

The American Distance Education Consortium links to learning resources, courseware tools, satellite resources, federal programs and grants, standards and plans, accessibility issues and more.

 

The Parent Teacher Association (PTA) is the largest volunteer child advocacy association in the nation.

 

The International Reading Association is a professional organization for those involved in teaching reading to learners of all ages. Our members are dedicated to promoting high levels of literacy for all

 

NEA: National Education Association Homepage


Page Information

  • 7 months ago [history]
  • View page source
  • You're not logged in
  • Tags: template

Wiki Information

Recent PBwiki Blog Posts