Criminal Justice

 Indicates MyUnion Id and password required to access resource

 

Online Reference Resources

Your first stop for basic information on a subject

 

 
  Search

Credo Reference- World of Criminal Justice 1,100 individual entries explain in concise, detailed, and jargon-free language some of the most important topics, theories, discoveries, concepts, and organizations in criminal justice.

 

Historical Dictionary of Law Enforcement Provides biographies and information on popular topics. 

 

International Encyclopedia of the Social & Behavioral Sciences An authoritative, up-to-date, comprehensive encyclopedia for the social and behavioral sciences published by Elsevier. Check out the section on Crime and Criminality

 

 Sage Dictionary of Criminology   

 

 

 

 

Databases

Get information, articles, and much more in these databases

 

 

Try These First…

 

 

NCJRS Abstracts Database Abstracts database from the National Criminal Justice Reference Service containing summaries on criminal justice, juvenile justice, and substance abuse resources.

 

 

Criminology: SAGE Full Text Collection includes the full text of 23 journals published by SAGE and participating societies on criminology topics.


InfoTrac Criminal Justice Collection More than 150 journals in the area of criminal justice.

 NCJRS Full Text Publications Full text documents from the National Criminal Justice Reference Service.

 

PAVNET is a searchable database of information on programs and funding on violence and youth-at-risk. Also includes technical assistance information. 

 

Sociological Abstracts Abstracts and indexes 1800+ journals in the international literature of sociology and its related disciplines.

 

ScienceDirect College Edition Over 1,200 full text journals published by Elsevier in the social sciences, health, and medicine.

 

Academic Search Premier contains full text coverage in the social sciences, humanities, and sciences. 

 

 Academic OneFile is a multi-disciplinary database with full text coverage of more than 8,000 journals. 

 

 

 

Journals

 

Just looking to browse? Find criminal justice journals here.

 

 

 

 

Government Agencies and Publications

 

 

 

Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, and Firearms

 

Department of Justice

 

Drug Enforcement Administration

 

Federal Bureau of Investigation

 

Federal Bureau of Prisons Directory and inmate information, employment information, National Institute of Corrections.

 

National Criminal Justice Reference Service (NCJRS) Federally funded resource offering justice and substance abuse information to support research, policy, and program development worldwide. 

 

TRAC.Syr.edu Clearinghouse organization associated with Syracuse University which provides oversight on government agencies such as DEA, FBI, DHS, and ATF.

 

USA.gov The U.S. government's official web portal. 

 

FBI's Most Wanted Includes ten most wanted fugitives, most wanted terrorists, crime alerts, and more.

 

FBI Reports and Publications  Reports published by the Federal Bureau of Investigation.

 

Federal Agencies Freedom of Information Act Web Sites Online versions of documents released under the Freedom of Information Act by various Department of Justice agencies. 

 

U.S. Department of Justice Publications by Agency Online publications from over 30 agencies within the Department of Justice, including the Federal Bureau of Prisons, the Immigration & Naturalization Service, and the National Institute of Corrections.

 

   

Laws, Cases, and Codes

 

 

 

LexisNexis Primarily full text database that provides current news and legal information. Also provides federal case law, U.S. Code, and Code of Federal Regulations.

  

 FindLaw: Cases and Codes Links to many resources on cases and codes for both federal and state. 

 

Public and Private Laws Official U.S. government page for public and private laws.

 

United States Code Official U.S. government page for the United States Code. 

 

 

Statistics

  

  

Sourcebook of Criminal Justice Statistics  Brings together data from more than 100 sources about many aspects of criminal justice in the United States and is funded by the U.S. Dept. of Justice, Bureau of Justice Statistics and produced at the University of Albany.

 

Bureau of Justice Statistics Statistics published by the U.S. Department of Justice, Bureau of Statistics on crime, drugs, law enforcement, corrections, courts and more. Includes the 1995 National Crime Victimization Survey. 

 

Criminal Justice Statistics Center (California) Statistics compiled by the office of the California Attorney General on crime and the criminal justice process in California with over 5,000 statistical tables as well as links to other criminal statistics services.   

 

International Justice Statistics Links to various sources of justice statistics for other nations, such as the UN Crime and Justice Information Network.

 

White House Social Statistics Briefing Room Current data on various crime and justice topics.

 

 

 

 

Web Resources

Here are some basic sites to find relevant information. Government and educational sites are the most reliable sites. Check out the Evaluating Resources page for how to find reliable websites.

 

Criminal Justice Links from SUNY-Albany Megasite of criminal justice links from the University of Albany with topic areas such as substance abuse, juvenile justice, human rights, capital punishment, and more.

  

Criminal Justice Resources Guide from Michigan State University Libraries Megasite of criminal justice links from Michigan State University Libraries broken down into topic areas such as community policing, race and criminal justice, gun control, and more.

 

 Officer.com Police news, forums, links, and more for police officers and law enforcement.

 

The World's Most Wanted Links to most-wanted pages from all 50 states and selected countries.

 

United Nations Crime and Justice Information Network Access to United Nations documents and standards, statistical sources, laws and treaties, country information and Institutes of the Crime Prevention and Criminal Justice Programme Network.

 

 

 

Associations

 

 

Academy of Criminal Justice Sciences

 

American Academy of Forensic Sciences

  

American Correctional Association

  

American Society of Criminology

 

American Sociological Association - Crime, Law & Deviance Section

 

International Association of Chiefs of Police World's oldest and largest nonprofit membership organization of police executives.

 

Justice Research and Statistics Association National nonprofit organization of state Statistical Analysis Center (SAC) directors, researchers, and practitioners throughout government, academia, and criminal justice organizations. Provides a clearinghouse of current information on state criminal justice research, programs, and publications. 

 

Police Executive Forum National membership of police executives. The site has an extensive free document library.

 


Page Information

  • 5 months ago [history]
  • View page source
  • You're not logged in
  • No tags yet learn more

Wiki Information

Recent PBwiki Blog Posts