Children's Literature

 

 

Indicates MyUnion Id and password required to access resource

 

 

 

Online Reference Resources

 

Your first stop for basic information on a subject

The Cambridge Guide to Children's Books in English An alphabetised reference work providing a critical and appreciative overview of English language children’s books from across the world.

 

Continuum Encyclopedia of Children's Literature Covers 150 years of children's literature in many cultures: The United States, Great Britain, Canada, continental Europe, Australia, New Zealand, Africa, and Asia. Biographical-critical entries include authors as well as illustrators.

 

Critical Reading: A Guide From Brock University, a basic guide for undergraduates outlining methods to analyze and interpret poetry and fiction.

 

 The Cambridge History of English and American Literature Considered the most important work of literary history and criticism ever published, it contains essay topics ranging from poetry, fiction, drama and essays to history, theology and political writing.

 

Database of Award-Winning Children's Literature Developed by librarian Lisa R. Bartle, this is a searchable database of all kinds of awards for children's literature.

 

The de Grummond Children's Literature Collection is one of North America's leading research centers in the field of children's literature.

 

International Children's Digital Library Digitized children's literature from 27 cultures in 15 languages. 

 

 

 

 

Databases

Get information, articles, and much more in these databases.                             

Try These First…

 

Literature Resource Center: Full-text journal articles, literary criticism, reviews, biographical information, and overviews on over 130,000 writers in all disciplines, from all time periods and from around the world.

 

LitFinder: Covering world literature and authors throughout history, LitFinder contains a wealth of literary works including over 150,000 full-text poems and 800,000+ poetry citations, as well as short stories, speeches, and plays.

 

 

 

Children's Catalog is a selective annotated list of fiction and nonfiction books and magazines for children from preschool through sixth grade, along with review sources and other professional aids for children's librarians and school media specialists.

 

Fiction Catalog a selective annotated list of fiction for adults that includes both established and contemporary works either written in or translated into English. encompasses over 21,600 articles.

 

 

MLA International Bibliography on InfoTrac: Indexes books, articles and dissertations published on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics, providing coverage from 1926 to the present.

 

 

 

Journals

 

Just looking to browse? Find writing and literature journals here.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Book Reviews

 

 

 

Books In Print Records describe in-print, out-of-print, and forthcoming books, audios, and videos from North American publishers and U.S. distributors and wholesalers.

 

Education Review: a journal of book reviews publishes reviews of recent books in education, covering the entire range of education scholarship and practice.

 

The Horn Book Published since 1924, The Horn Book is a bimonthly publication of children’s literature reviews and critical articles and essays.

 

Library Journal from 05/01/1976 to present in Academic Search Premier

 

School Library Journal from 09/01/1974 to present in Academic Search Premier

 

New York Times Book Review from 01/01/1995 to present in Academic OneFile

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Awards and Medals

 

 

 

Caldecott Medal

 

 

Coretta Scott King Award 

 

Newbury Medal

 

YASLA Booklists and Book Awards Page The Young Adult Library Services Association division of the ALA maintains this page, which includes booklists and book awards.


 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Web Resources

Here are some basic sites to find relevant information. Government and educational sites are the most reliable sites. Check out the Evaluating Resources page for how to find reliable websites.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Internet Public Library: Literary Criticism This site contains links to 1500+ critical and biographical Web sites about British and American authors from the middle ages to the present.

 

 

Carol Hurst's Children Literature Site This site includes reviews of children's literature, information on authors and illustrators, and curriculum/literature connections.

 

The Children's Literature Web Guide This guide attempts to gather and organize a growing number of Internet resources related to books for children and young adults.

 

Database of Award-Winning Children's Literature Developed by librarian Lisa R. Bartle, this is a searchable database of all kinds of awards for children's literature.

 

 

 

ABC-Lit: An Index to Children's Literature Scholarship For those interested in the theories and criticism used to analyze children's literature, this annotated index will guide you to new resources.

 

Children’s Literature These pages, developed by Kay Vandergrift, a professor of children’s literature at Rutgers School of Communication, Information and Library Studies, offer a useful overview of the history of children’s literature and link to extensive bibliographies and other resources that she has compiled.

 

ALA Resources for Parents, Teens and Kids Divided into categories for kids, teens, parents and families. Includes award winning children's book lists as well as recommended items in other formats. Developed by the American Library Association.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Associations

 

 

 

 

Modern Language Association (MLA) A non-profit organization that promotes the study and teaching of language and literature.

 

 

 

The Association of Writers and Writing Programs fosters literary talent and achievement to advance the art of writing as essential to a good education, and to serve the makers, teachers, students, and readers of contemporary writing.

 

American Association of School Librarians (AASL). This is the Web site for AASL, a division of the ALA for school librarians and school library media specialists. Included are conference and event information, the new national guidelines and standards, professional materials for handling book and material challenges, resources on Internet filtering, and AASL mission and position statements.

 

ALSC Resources Page The Association for Library Services to Children division of the ALA provides recommended book lists, links to online children's libraries, resources for children's librarians, and more.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 


Page Information

  • 1 month ago [history]
  • View page source
  • You're not logged in
  • No tags yet learn more

Wiki Information

Recent PBwiki Blog Posts